Hip-Hop for Honkies

Feel like I hate most hip-hop played on the radio. Seems pretty ‘ignant’. Hard for me to feel connected to most of these guys. Probably can’t relate to any thing they rap about, like rims, crunk(ness?), bitches etc.

Bling seems like the 'American Apparrel' of the Hip Hop community.

Occasionally there is an enjoyable song that becomes “popular”. I liked this one about NYC. Makes NYC seem pretty cool. Like a place I could chill.

“Catch me at the X with OG at a Yankee game,
Sh-t I made the yankee hat more famous than a yankee can,
You should know I bleed Blue, but I aint a crip tho,
But I got a gang of n-ggas walking with my click though”

Thinkin’ that a shit ton of championships probably also has something to do with why the Yankees are pretty famous. Good to know that this ‘Jay-Z’ guy isn’t a crip ‘tho’. Feel like I want to start typing cool self promoting phrases midway through paragraph breaks in some upcoming blogs.

“Dat Boy Good!”

Most other hip-hop I like tends to be non-mainstream. Feel like it’s the type of stuff that only white kidz listen to. Probably doesn’t have much street cred. Is that really any different then main stream hip-hop?

One of my favorite groups is “The Cool Kids”

The Cool Kids. Chillin'. Blowin' bubbles. Wearin' big shirts.

Below is a photo of the audience at a Cool Kids concert. Seems exceptionally white.

Find the black people.

Kind of worried that I will never have ‘street cred’. If I listen to the Cool Kids, I probably just like “hipster rap”. If I listen to mainstream rap, I am probably “uncultured”. Is rap just a trap to make white people look stoopid?

White people have been goin' crazy over black music for ages! These bros look kind of like that girl who cried on American Idol when Sanjiya got kicked off.

Not sure what to do.
Should I just accept my fate as a poser?
Is there truly authentic rap out their that I can relate to?
Is Mickey Mantle or Jay-Z more important to the Yankees franchise?
Is ‘crunk’ still relevant?

Anyways here are a few hip-hop tunes that I like:

Directors Cut by Head Like a Kite

A Little Bit Cooler by The Cool Kids

Ghetto Rock by Mos Def

Don’t Forget by Atmosphere

Something You Forgot by Lil Wayne

Get By by Talib Kweli

Benzie Box by Danger Doom

Joe Metro by Blue Scholars

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Rant

Leave a Reply

