Album Review: Dum Dum Girls – I Will Be

I Will Be (2010) - Candid unflattering polaroids = Alt album art.

A few months back I heard the single off this album by the “Dum Dum Girls” called “Jail La La”.


Jail La La Mp3

The song seemed ‘good’. Like something for artsy/edgy girls to enjoy in the summer. The band has a similar girl-fuzz rock aesthetic/sound to “The Vivian Girls”.

Dum Dum Girls


Vivian Girls

The main difference seems to be that the “Dum Dum Girls” just wear more black and are more ‘matchy’.

After listening to/enjoying the single. I gave the album a shot. Not sure that I really love it. Kind of hard to distinguish one song from the next. “Yours alone” and “Everybody’s Out” are both pretty solid tracks but nothing really jumped at me like the single did. Maybe these songs hold up better when you don’t listen to 10+ in a row. Could possibly be used on a mix tape. Guess I was just hoping for more variety.

Do you ‘get’ fuzz rock?
Who do you like better, “The Vivian Girls” or the “Dum Dum Girls”?
What is the key to creating an authentic gurl rock group?
Is it important to have ‘girls’ in your band name?

Dum Dum Girls: I Will be 2.5 out of 5.

1 Comment

Filed under Music, review

One response to “Album Review: Dum Dum Girls – I Will Be

  1. I’m rather fond of this band.

    Have a look:

Leave a Reply

